Guest Reviews

Iowa
Reviewed: Feb 22, 2019
2-Bedroom #923: Awesome. Beautiful condo. Spectacular views. Location amazing! Well come back!
View Property: 22665
Kona, Hawaii
Reviewed: Feb 20, 2019
1-Bedroom #1074: This place was amazing; I never wanted to leave. I appreciated the underground parking, the gym was small but well appointed, and the unit itself could not have been any better. The views were amazing and the location cannot be beat. Truly an amazing place.
View Property: 107126
Vancouver, WA
Reviewed: Feb 7, 2019
Studio #1062: Room with a View! The lanai of this room is gorgeous. Protected from the wind and hot afternoon sun, we sat here may hours watching people, waves, whales, and rain. It is the ideal location. Quiet and comfortable. The catamarans pick up passengers on the beach just south of the unit. From this unit you can walk all the way to the Papakea north or to the Hyatt Regency to the south or just around the corner to Whalers Village. If youre really ambitious, you can walk all the way to Lahaina. Just make your way to Hanakaoo Park and then walk along the guardrail. We had a fabulous stay! You will too!
View Property: 32142
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed: Jan 29, 2019
Studio #965: This condo was amazing. Words cannot describe how convenient, stylish and accommodating this location was. The condo was very clean and had everything we need for 7 days. It had the essentials for cooking breakfast (oil salt pepper honey etc). The beach is very close and the market was next door. You made our honeymoon perfect!
View Property: 22667
Santa Rosa, CA
Reviewed: Jan 29, 2019
1-Bedroom #411: Fantastic location, matches images, awesome amenities.
View Property: 104169
California
Reviewed: Jan 29, 2019
1-Bedroom #411: Great location, amazing view from the balcony. Apartment fully equipped - sand toys, kitchen, everything we needed. Right on the beach and 1 min walk from restaurants and shops. We had a great time!!
View Property: 104169
Beaverton, OR
Reviewed: Jan 22, 2019
Studio #813: It was our first time in Maui and my husband and I both agree that it was our best vacation ever, and would have loved to have stayed longer. The weather, the room, the view, the whales, the water, the people -- everything was wonderful. We did not want to leave - and would love to return!
View Property: 22663
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: Jan 4, 2019
Studio #715: Thank you for having me in your wonderful condo. It exceeded my expectations and was exactly what I needed to make my stay in Maui a dream! A spacious, well equipped condo in a great location with all the amenities of the resort. Ill be back!
View Property: 22661
Sacramento, CA
Reviewed: Jan 4, 2019
Studio #1062: We had a great time at The Whaler. We loved the proximity to the beach, just steps away from our condo. They also had a rental station with snorkeling gear that my husband loved and I loved the complimentary beach chairs! Front desk was very welcoming & friendly. Grounds were beautiful. It was also right next door to the Whaler Village shopping center with some great restaurants and shops.
View Property: 32142
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan 3, 2019
Studio #963: Apartment was perfect, very clean, comfortable and great space for two. View from the lanai of the west Maui mountains and the ocean was gorgeous. Will definitely return :)
View Property: 22666
Seattle, WA
Reviewed: Dec 19, 2018
2-Bedroom #923: This property is lovely. The view is outstanding of the ocean and especially the mountains. The unit is very spacious and the Whaler staff is accommodating and very friendly. The beach, pool and Whalers village is at your finger tips. We dined out as well as cooked in and found the kitchen accommodations in satisfactory condition and well appointed. We cannot wait to return!
View Property: 22665
Bend, OR
Reviewed: Dec 18, 2018
1-Bedroom #557: Our home away from home. We try to visit Maui every year and always stay in this unit. It is absolutely perfect for us, fabulous location, well stocked and you cant beat those views.
View Property: 135950
Houston, TX
Reviewed: Dec 12, 2018
1-Bedroom #401: We choose this property over many others because of the view. It did not disappoint. Excellent ocean and mountain views from the very large lanai. It was so relaxing to hear the surf during the day and night even with the doors and windows closed. We will stay here again.
View Property: 29618
Layfayette, LA
Reviewed: Dec 12, 2018
Studio #963: This condo has an incredible view. It was clean and even had beach chairs and a cooler for us to use. It is a wonderful property.
View Property: 22666
Palo Alto, CA
Reviewed: Dec 11, 2018
2-Bedroom #1102: What a beautiful location on a magical beach! Kaanapali is a great spot for a relaxing family beach stay, and the Whaler is right at the center of it. This unit is literally one of the two best at the Whaler in my opinion: The wrap-around lanai with a wrap-around view of the ocean is awesome, with floor-to-ceiling windows. The west & north-facing panorama of ocean & Black Rock is especially gorgeous, from sunrise, to perfect sunset, and then even after dark. The height of the unit (11th floor!) & the North tower location means your views are completely unobstructed and youre so high up you can skip the helicopter tour. I would definitely seek this unit out again the next time were coming to Kaanapali with the family. For the price and the amenities of home, its was such a better value than two rooms in a hotel.
View Property: 22671
Manhattan Beach
Reviewed: Dec 11, 2018
Studio #1118: I cant say enough good things! For the price compared to close by resorts, it is a steal. Pool, towels, chairs, concierge, and more - all included!! The location could not be better. Walking distance to all the Kanaapali restaurants, shops, etc. We grabbed coffee each morning from Whalers Village, right next door! The apartment itself has fantastic views - sunrise over the mountains and sunset over the ocean. A view of beach and Black Rock right out front. Being on the 11th floor, it was extremely quiet and peaceful. The balcony was great and we ate breakfast there each morning. Speaking of, the kitchen was so nice to have!! If youre staying longer than a few days, having the kitchen is crucial! The bathroom was nice, the shower was a little used/worn but nothing that bothered us at all. The decor is very older Hawaiian but that made it all the more special. The photographs look exactly like the place, so you see what you get! We would stay here again absolutely. If were ever in Maui again, well be back! Thank you for the perfect Honeymoon stay.
View Property: 127914
Seattle, WA
Reviewed: Dec 10, 2018
1-Bedroom #411: The unit is gorgeous. High-end finishes and excellent, maximized use of the space over the original floor plan. The fold out bed is not in keeping with the other furnishings and my adult grandchildren camped out on the floor, rather than sleep on the uncomfortable bed. The kitchen is unbelievably elegant, well appointed and spacious. Love the cabinetry. Had trouble finding the refrigerator, but WOW what a great appliance. The washer and dryer were a bit hard to figure out, but were such a lovely amenity. I would have liked some larger pans, especially a large skillet, and placemats. I found the lighting imaginative, but a bit challenging to figure out. Overall, the nicest unit weve stayed in roughly 20 times at The Whaler.
View Property: 104169
Danville, CA
Reviewed: Dec 10, 2018
2-Bedroom #923: We have stayed at the Whaler a number of times (11 I think). We have stayed in studios, one & two bedroom units and have always enjoyed our stay. The location is very convenient but is not congested. We enjoyed the area with the green hills in the back and the beautiful beach in the front.. We used the barbecue grills 8 out of the 14 nights we were there. Very nice. Looking forward to our next visit.
View Property: 22665
St Louis, MO
Reviewed: Dec 10, 2018
Studio #1062: Highly recommend this property. Great views. And nice room for the price. Would come back again.
View Property: 32142
Temple City, CA
Reviewed: Dec 10, 2018
Studio #965: We loved the location, the views and the upgrades of this studio! Watching the sunrise from the lanai in the morning with coffee and watching it set in the evening with some wine was just everything! The bed is so comfy too, we had a great nights rest every night. This studio has everything you need to grill on the BBQ in the common area overlooking the beach or to dine in if you wish. The pool was great as well as the jacuzzi and the people who stay at The Whaler were so nice; We made lots of new friends! We cannot wait to return next year, we absolutely will be booking this studio again.
View Property: 22667
USA
Reviewed: Aug 30, 2017
Studio #813: For one person or a couple this is the ideal space - the sound of the ocean lulls you to sleep and is the only sound you can hear. The property is in great condition and has everything you need. I will definitely choose it again. Paradise found ....
View Property: 22663
Marysville, WA [April 2012]
Reviewed: Jun 25, 2012
The unit was tastefully decorated and clean. We enjoyed the ocean view from the lanai and could see whales jumping! I have stayed at the Whaler many times over the years since 1981 and really dont want to stay any place else. I think that on future stays, we may think about just having a rental car for the first couple of days since Whalers Village is next door, everything is very convenient.
View Property: 22664
Minnesota [March 2012]
Reviewed: Jun 25, 2012
Studio #715: Paradise on the ocean. We had a wonderful time in our studio condo, it was neat, clean, and best of all it had a fantastic view. We were able to snorkle right out in front on the beach. We saw turtles, all kinds of fish, and got real tan. We highly recommend this great stay!
View Property: 22661
Broken Arrow, OK [January 2012]
Reviewed: Jun 25, 2012
Studio #1062: Experiencing Paradise - This was not our first visit to The Whaler and will certainly not be the last. Its right in the heart of Kaanapali Beach, restaurants and shopping next door, short walk to Black Rock for sunset, quiet but still has alot of energy. The unit was clean, spacious (especially the closet!) and met all of our expectations. We also love receiving the email newsletters.
View Property: 32142
Lathrop, CA [January 2012]
Reviewed: Jun 25, 2012
1-Bedroom #1174: See You Next Year!!! We have enjoyed the whaler on previous visits, so there were really no surprises. The location is unparalleled; great views, walking distance to good restaurants and shopping, great beach. Because of how we rented the property, there was no maid service or any daily upkeep. That typically is not a problem unless you want to be pampered (and sometimes I do want that) The unit was very well furnished and appointed. everything worked (washer and dryer too!) The only thing to keep in mind when making reservations is that each unit/room is owned individually, although there are large blocks of units owned and/or managed by a single entity. My initial effort to rent for this past visit was not very pleasant at all. However, I was able to make contact with a couple of very helpful owners, and got a great deal on a very nice room. Thank you Monte Fitts and company. You were all wonderful!!
View Property: 22673
Los Angeles, CA [January 2011]
Reviewed: Dec 19, 2011
Studio #1062: Our friends have a timeshare at The Whaler so we usually stay at the KBH next door but we wanted a kitchen this year. The recent construction looks great now. We left on a red eye flight and the staff was nice about us leaving our bags and offering us a shower etc until we left in the evening. We even purchased a Whaler t-shirt when we left from the gift shop!
View Property: 32142